Center Col: Unset
Col Margin: Unset
Col Status: Unset
Mouse over button or menu: Unset
Home Btn Pos X (Left), Y (bottom): Unset
Mouse X, Y: Unset

Recommend this page to a friend:

On a mobile device? Try our mobile site

Unit History: Royal Mercian Lancastrian Yeomanry

Royal Mercian Lancastrian Yeomanry
The Royal Mercian and Lancastrian Yeomanry is a yeomanry regiment of the United Kingdom’s Territorial Army. It currently serves in the armoured replacement role, providing replacement tank crews for regular armoured regiments.
The regiment was formed in 1992 by the amalgamation of The Queen’s Own Mercian Yeomanry and The Duke of Lancaster’s Own Yeomanry as part of the Options for Change. In 1999 it absorbed a squadron from The Queen’s Own Yeomanry, bringing it to a strength of four squadrons plus the headquarters squadron.
The RMLY consists of an HQ Squadron and four sabre squadrons. Each of the sabre squadrons perpetuates a historic Yeomanry regiment, which is reflected in their subtitles:
   * A (Staffordshire, Warwickshire and Worcestershire Yeomanry) Squadron
   * B (Shropshire Yeomanry) Squadron
   * C (Cheshire Yeomanry) Squadron
   * D (Duke of Lancaster’s Own Yeomanry) Squadron
In October 2006, the RMLY became a single cap badge regiment, when the individual cap badges of each squadron were replaced by the newly designed RMLY cap badge. This incorporates the Mercian Eagle from the Queen’s Own Mercian Yeomanry with the Red Rose from the Duke of Lancaster’s Own Yeomanry.
Down arrow Up arrow 8 people in our Post WW2 records
Filter by Surname:
Down arrow Up arrow 8 people in our Forces Reunited records
Filter by Surname:

Active From: 1992 - Present

One moment...