Unit History: Royal Wessex Yeomanry

Royal Wessex Yeomanry
The Royal Wessex Yeomanry is an armoured regiment of the British Territorial Army consisting of four squadrons, each of which bears the cap badge of an old yeomanry regiment:
   * A (Dorset Yeomanry) Squadron
   * B (Royal Wiltshire Yeomanry) Squadron
   * C (Royal Gloucestershire Hussars) Squadron
   * D (Royal Devon Yeomanry) Squadron
The Royal Wessex Yeomanry, which was formed in 1971, currently serves two roles; the Dorset Yeomanry serves as an infrastructure and training squadron for the armour replacement role, while the other three squadrons are operational as armour replacements on the Challenger 2 tank.
Unusually, B Sqn is the senior of the four squadrons of the regiment. This is because the RWY is the senior Yeomanry regiment in the Yeomanry Order of Precedence, having been raised in 1794. It is not designated as A Sqn (which would be the usual practice) because there is an A (Royal Wiltshire Yeomanry) Sqn of the Royal Yeomanry with which it could be confused.
HRH Prince Edward, the Earl of Wessex, is the Royal Honorary Colonel of the Royal Wessex Yeomanry.

Search for a name in our archive

Please enter a surname
Small Medium Large Landscape Portrait