Center Col: Unset
Col Margin: Unset
Col Status: Unset
Mouse over button or menu: Unset
Home Btn Pos X (Left), Y (bottom): Unset
Mouse X, Y: Unset

Recommend this page to a friend:

On a mobile device? Try our mobile site

Unit History: Shaw Savill Line

Shaw Savill Line
Shaw, Savill & Albion Line (later shortened to Shaw Savill Line in publicity) was comprised of three constituent companies:-
1: Shaw, Savill & Co, London formed in 1858
2: Albion Line, Glasgow in 1856
3: John Leslie & Partners, Aberdeen.
The combined Shaw, Savill & Albion Line was created in 1882, but Shaw, Savill & Co retained five sailing ships, and John Leslie & Partners ran their ships with this fleet. Shaw, Savill & Albion Line also ran a joint service to New Zealand with White Star Line from 1884 to 1933, when the collapse of the White Star Line enabled the service to be taken over completely by Shaw Savill. Shaw Savill continued to use White Star-style names with the suffix "-ic". In 1928, the Commonwealth Line taken over and renamed Aberdeen & Commonwealth Line, followed by the takeover of the Aberdeen Line in 1933. Also in 1933, control of Shaw Savill was acquired by Furness, Withy & Co.
Down arrow Up arrow 1 people in our WW1 records
Filter by Surname:
Down arrow Up arrow 12 people in our Post WW2 records
Filter by Surname:
Down arrow Up arrow 13 people in our Forces Reunited records
Filter by Surname:

Active From: 1882 - Present

One moment...