Unit History: Royal Military College of Science

Royal Military College of Science
The Defence College of Management and Technology (DCMT) is a British postgraduate school and research institution. Until 2002 it was known as Royal Military College of Science; it has roots back to 1772.
DCMT is part of the Defence Academy of the United Kingdom, and as such part of the British Armed Forces. Since 1984 Cranfield University has been the main academic provider of the College. A November 2005 contract extends the Cranfield relationship with DCMT to at least 2027.
The College is based, like the majority of Defence Academy institutions, at MOD Shrivenham, located between the villages of Shrivenham and Watchfield in the south-west corner of Oxfordshire (Vale of White Horse). DCMT facilities at Shrivenham are run by Serco Defence and Aerospace.
DCMT consists of three academic departments:
Department of Applied Science, Security and Resilience (DASSR)
Centre for Defence Chemistry
Centre for Humanitarian Resilience
Centre for Materials Science and Engineering
Centre for Ordnance Science and Technology
Security and Resilience Group
Department of Engineering Systems and Management (DESM)
Aeromechanical Systems Group
Applied Mathematics and Scientific Computing Group
Centre for Acquisition (and Logistics)
Centre for Defence Management and Leadership
Centre for Human Systems
Centre for Security Sector Management
Centre for Systems Engineering
Future Combat Systems Group
Impact and Armour Group
Power and Drive Systems Group
Operational Analysis, Modelling and Simulation Group
Weapon Systems and Engineering Dynamics Group
Department of Informatics and Sensors (DOIS)
Autonomous Systems Group
Centre for Forensic Computing and Security
Centre for Information Systems Engineering
Communications and Wireless Networks Group
Electro-optics Group
Radar Systems Group

Search for a name in our archive

Please enter a surname
Small Medium Large Landscape Portrait