Unit History: Explosive Ordnance Disposal Unit
Explosive Ordnance Disposal (EOD) began as an outcome of the British experience with German delay-fused bombs at the beginning of World War II. In 1940 the Mine Disposal School was established at the Washington, D.C. Navy Yard. In 1941, trainees were called to render safe unexploded Japanese ordnance and provided vital intelligence information on its mechanism. The next major occurrence for EOD was the formation of Mine Disposal Unit ONE in December 1951. In 1953, the name was changed to Explosive Ordnance Disposal Unit ONE. With the growth of requirements, Explosive Ordnance Disposal Group Pacific was formed in 1967 with three subordinate commands. In 1971, this structure was modified and renamed as EOD Group ONE, with subordinate commands of EOD Mobile Unit One, EOD Shipboard Unit ONE, and EOD Training and Evaluation Unit ONE. Today EOD Group ONE consists of five EOD mobile units (two NRF), one mobile diving and salvage unit, one EOD training unit, and one VSW MCM detachment.